常问问题

什麼是Chia

Chia於2017年8月成立,旨在開發改進的區塊鍊和智能交易平台。 我們正在建立Chia網絡,以改善全球金融和支付系統。 Chia將是第一個企業級數字貨幣。 Chia正在使用自比特幣以來的第一個新的區塊鏈共識算法。 它被稱為“時空證明”,它是由現役最好的網絡協議工程師,BitTorrent的發明者Bram Cohen創建的。 Chialisp是Chia的新型智能交易編程語言,功能強大,易於審核且安全。 當前可用的參考智能交易包括:原子掉期,授權收款人,可恢復錢包,多重簽名錢包和限價錢包。

“什麼是時空證明?”

空間證明是一種加密技術,證明會證明它們將未使用的硬盤空間分配給存儲空間。 為了用作共識方法,必須將空間證明與時間證明聯繫起來。 PoT確保區塊時間在它們之間的時間具有一致性,並提高了區塊鏈的整體安全性。

“空間證明和時間證明如何工作?”

可以將空間證明視為一種證明您在硬盤驅動器上未使用某些存儲的方式。 Chia區塊鏈的用戶將通過安裝軟件來“播種”其硬盤驅動器上未使用的空間,該軟件將磁盤上的一組加密數字存儲為“密謀”。這些用戶稱為“農民”。當區塊鏈廣播下一個區塊的挑戰時,農民可以掃描其地塊以查看其是否具有最接近挑戰的哈希值。農民贏得一個街區的概率是農民佔整個網絡的總空間的百分比。

時間證明要求在塊之間經過一小段時間。時間證明是通過可驗證的延遲功能實現的,該功能需要花費一定的時間來計算,但驗證速度卻很快。 VDF的關鍵思想是它們需要順序計算,並且由於擁有許多並行機不會產生任何收益,因此可以最大程度地減少電力浪費。 VDF服務器(“ Timelords”)可能相對較少,因為最快的VDF服務器將始終排在第一位,並且只需一個快速公平的Timelord在網絡上即可完成一個區塊並將鏈向前推進。

“什麼是Chialisp?”

Chia具有一種新開發的,創新的區塊鏈編程語言,稱為Chialisp,它功能強大,易於審核且安全。 Chialisp是一個出色的鏈上智能交易開發環境,它將釋放加密貨幣所承諾的安全性,透明度和易用性。

“我在哪裡可以了解有關Chialisp的更多信息?”

閱讀介紹Chialisp的博客文章。

“為什麼Chia更好?”

Chia擁有一種創新的Nakamoto風格的創新共識算法,該算法從系統中消除了工作量證明的能量需求。 與其他加密貨幣相比,由於Chia分散的區塊鏈,其安全性將大大提高。 Chialisp是Chia的新型智能交易編程語言,它功能強大,易於審核和安全,並將釋放加密貨幣所承諾的安全性,透明度和易用性。 Chia還採用了更現代的加密工具來實現更豐富的智能交易功能。 Chia正在採用一種新的高級方法來通過最終擁有上市農場的公共,營利性開源開發公司來為區塊鏈提供資金,構建和支持。 Chia將使用其農場前(“戰略儲備”)來減輕代幣的波動性,以減輕泡沫和崩盤並推動Chia的採用。

“在哪裡可以了解有關您的共識算法的技術細節的更多信息?”

我們有學術論文和演講,詳細介紹了我們的新共識算法和區塊鏈軟件。 在2019年,我們透露了我們的綠皮書 概述了時空證明的構造,並說明了Chia的許多設計選擇。 還有一個 Mariano Sorgente在2019年的演講 在麻省理工學院就如何通過空間證明和VDF實現中本元共識達成共識。

Bram Cohen 提出了 在太空證明上於2018年2月在斯坦福大學舉行。 我們的顧問, Dan Boneh, Benedikt Bünz, 和 Ben Fisch 發表了對VDF的調查 這是時間證明的基礎技術。 Lipa Long 發表班級組的解釋 那我們的 時間證明 是根據。Bram 提出了 除了Hellman的時間記憶權衡與空間證明應用之外 在2018年1月的BPASE ‘18 學術論文 還有這些 幻燈片 通過 Hamza Abusalah. Ben Fisch 給了 談論 於2018年1月在BPASE 2018上的可驗證延遲功能。 Bram 在伯克利的區塊鏈上發表演講(大約從20:00開始) 在2018年3月 幻燈片. Bram 給了 在BPASE 2017上的演講 於2017年1月通過時空證明消除浪費 (幻燈片).

Bram 給了 談論 在SF Bitcoin Devs Seminar上討論了使用 幻燈片Merkle Set code. Bram 給了談論 在SF Bitcoin Devs Seminar上討論瞭如何消除加密貨幣的浪費。

“Chia網絡策略是什麼?”

我們認為,區塊鏈行業仍由開發人員領導。 我們打算成為部署新應用程序和服務的上乘鏈,並成為主權支持穩定代幣等應用程序的唯一嚴肅而安全的選擇。 Chia Network業務將是第一個管理預農場的營利性公司,我們打算成為第一個可公開交易的“ near ETF”加密貨幣。 我們相信-由於Redhat和MySQL AB是推動公司採用linux和mysql所必需的-隨著主權國家,金融機構和公司希望在日常交易中使用加密貨幣,我們將成為支持和培訓的源泉。 最後,我們相信我們將能夠利用存儲生態系統來推動公司和最終用戶的採用,因為硬盤驅動器製造商和存儲服務器賣方很可能將空間農業捆綁到他們的產品中。

“採礦和農業之間有什麼區別?”

採礦需要耗費大量電力的昂貴的一次性硬件。 我們正在通過公平,生態友好和更好的區塊鏈來緩解此問題,該區塊鏈使用農業來利用分佈在全球節點上的現有空硬盤空間。 由於任何安裝了我們的軟件並擁有地塊的人都可以贏得下一個區塊,因此耕種仍然是分散的。 採礦需要昂貴的定制一次性硬件,並且必須以批發價或更高的價格獲得電力,只有專為目標的公司才能負擔得起。 耕種更加分散,因為它依賴於空的硬盤空間,並且任何擁有手機,筆記本電腦或公司網絡的人都傾向於擁有當前未使用的額外空間。 與採礦不同,完成存儲工作後,您可以將其用於存儲例如家庭照片的用途。

我為什麼要種Chia?

您可以將Chia種植在手機,筆記本電腦或公司網絡的未使用存儲空間中,作為回報,您有機會獲得chia獎勵以幫助保護區塊鏈。 我們的軟件將允許您分配一定數量的未使用磁盤空間來創建繪圖。 由於唯一的資源密集型步驟是初始繪製,因此一旦下載了Chia節點軟件,驅動器將在後台繪製。 繪製完成後,您的計算機將開始代表您進行耕作,該軟件將完成所有工作並為您跟踪獎勵。 正在進行的耕作僅佔用很少的網絡帶寬,除存儲外幾乎不佔用任何資源。 通過使耕作過程對任何未使用磁盤空間的人都可用,我們正在朝著實現真正去中心化的區塊鏈的目標邁進,該區塊鏈也將作為存儲和雲行業的交叉補貼。

“什麼是Chia戰略儲備?”

Chia將在網絡啟動時預先為大量硬幣供應農業,以通過Chia新穎的Chia貸款商業計劃幫助穩定和發展Chia經濟。

“為什麼我們要提前耕種?”

Chia具有新穎的商業模式,既可以降低代幣的波動性,又可以提高采用率。 通過向Chia借貸並管理這些貸款的利率以及其他工具(例如使用chia硬幣購買我們的股票),我們希望降低硬幣的四分之一季度波動。 為了推動採用,我們打算將Chia貸款給全球5000家公司,這些公司將使用它向國際供應商快速,廉價,安全地付款。 我們還打算利用戰略儲備來協助開發和採用。 我們計劃做一些事情,例如在Chia生態系統中投資有前途的初創企業,可能在有限的時間內增加農業獎勵以刺激其他農業活動,並資助公司以Chia而不是法定貨幣支付其國際應付款的105%。

Chia在做ICO嗎?

不。Chia並未計劃ICO。 相反,我們的目標是使公司在美國股票市場上上市。 這樣,股東可以透明和公開地與管理層分擔風險和回報。 Chia數字貨幣是一種有用的付款工具,而不是投資機會。 Chia打算完成一項完全符合SEC規定的SEC註冊股票IPO,並將在市場時機允許的情況下上市。

“我今天可以買嘉嗎?”

否。一旦主網啟動,我們預計將有一個為期數週的時間,在此期間,網絡只會分配耕種獎勵,並且尚不支持交易。 這是為了提供一段時間來幫助穩定分配給Chia區塊鏈的空間數量,並優先考慮我們的太空農民。 此外,發布的候選耕作軟件將能夠生成可在啟動時立即在測試網和主網上進行耕作的地塊。 在主網上開始交易後不久,大多數全球交易所都可以使用Chia。

“我如何購買Chia?”

在主網上開始交易後不久,Chia即可在其他全球Chia所有者的大多數全球交易所上進行買賣。

“Chia何时会启动Mainnet?”

我们希望尽快完成Mainnet的发布,我们目前的目标是在2020年底完成。众所周知,软件开发非常困难,Chia区块链和Chialisp是在密码学和密码学领域许多新发现的第一个应用版本。 计算机科学。 当我们继续发布开源软件和有关发布计划的更新时,请在我们的网站,KeybaseGithub, Trello和邮件列表上保持最新。

“賈的通貨膨脹率是多少?”

在Chia進行預耕後,Chia將每5分鐘提供16 chia的農業獎勵。 在最初的15年中,每5年結束時,農業獎勵將減半。 從16年到無限年,獎勵將保持每5分鐘2個chia不變,從而導致通貨膨脹率不斷下降。 在主網啟動42年後,Chia的通脹率下降了0.50%。

“你在寫代碼嗎?”

是的,儘管我們正在努力安全地構建區塊鏈,但我們已經發布了BLS簽名庫VDF /時間證明實現和空間證明實現。 BLS簽名可以更好地託管和控制區塊鏈上的交易,而POT和POS對我們的共識算法都至關重要。 我們已經啟動了Beta測試網帶錢包模擬器的Chialisp來構建Chia智能交易。

“當前的國際貨幣體系還不夠好嗎?”

否。在世界各地,政府和銀行之間的互動存在問題,使銀行難以信任,尤其是在香港,委內瑞拉阿根廷或黎巴嫩等動盪地區。 當國際支付可用且可用時,它是緩慢,昂貴且不安全的。 國際SWIFT電匯通常需要1-5天。 代理銀行通常收取高達3%的費用,並且自9/11和2008年以來銀行業務發生變化以來,許多國家的代理銀行數量有限。 國際電匯欺詐損失非常大,我們有更好的解決方案來緩解這些問題。

“Chia使用比特幣的代碼嗎?”

不。Chia是完全從頭開始編寫的。

“比特幣不夠好嗎?”

當開發比特幣時,沒有預見到專門的硬件可以大大超越每個人擁有的計算機。 原來打算成為分散式網絡的現在由少數採礦者控制,這些採礦者可以使用芯片製造廠並進行批發電力購買(或更糟)。 當前控制比特幣網絡的礦工認為他們仍然具有競爭優勢,即使明確表示應該更改協議,他們也反對更改協議。 Chia已經研究新的數字貨幣生態系統十年了,並且相信我們可以使加密貨幣更加分散,更安全並且更易於使用。

“Chia的價值會像其他加密貨幣一樣波動嗎?”

我們相信,由於我們計劃的上市公司身份的計劃性質,正大代幣的波動性將小於比特幣,這將使金融機構可以對沖和利用代幣和股本。 最初,我們預計Chia Network的估值將主要基於公司將在其資產負債表上持有的chia的估值。 在數字交易平台上,Chia價格的波動很可能會在證券交易所上反映出我們股票價格的價格波動。 與傳統的區塊鏈項目相比,有更多的方法可以讓人們接觸到chia的成功。 這也將使我們股票的常規期權和衍生品可以用作類似Chia代幣價格的合成衍生品。 此外,我們使用Chia戰略儲備的能力可能會減少市場中Chia的波動性。

“你為什麼要舉辦這些比賽?”

我們相信,更多地關注我們的代碼只會使它變得更好。 例如, VDF比賽的結果 產生了一個VDF實現,其運行時間比我們的原始實現快80%。

“Chia在應用密碼技術方面的最新發展水平在哪裡?”

Chia創建了三項新的核心發明,並推動了對第四項的興趣和採用。 首先,Chia創造了第一個用於生產的產品 BLS簽名庫. 其次,Chia將成為可驗證延遲函數(VDF)的第一個生產用途。 三,嘉創 中本聰共識的時空證明.

最後,Chia將成為第一個生產用途 班組 未知順序的出現,催生了對其密碼學適用性的重大新研究。

“普通人能否將Chia用作付款工具?”

我們的希望是,隨著時間的推移,Chia將得到全球銷售點系統和消費者支付應用程序的支持。例如,如果您使用泰國的GrabPay應用程序在英格蘭的塔利的咖啡店購買咖啡,那麼它就可以“正常工作”,而您無需知道它是通過Chia支付的。

或者,例如,如果您居住的地方無法使用Venmo或Cash App之類的服務,那麼與執行緩慢且昂貴的電匯相比,使用Chia的麻煩就少得多。使用傳統銀行業務進行跨境匯款和轉換既麻煩,緩慢又昂貴,儘管替代性匯款服務可能更快,但它們並不便宜:西聯匯款可收取高達10%的匯款費用。

該技術將完全開源並且可訪問,任何人都可以在未經我們許可或幫助的情況下構建新錢包。但是,我們打算幫助錢包,交易所和商戶處理合作夥伴提供支持和集成服務,聯合營銷和流動性貸款。

“你為什麼叫Chia?”

我們是綠色的錢! 我們的創始人 Bram Cohen 這家公司成立之初就知道他想通過“綠色”選項降低區塊鏈的能源依賴。 耕作的概念似乎是填充未使用的磁盤空間並監視其是否有新芽的最佳隱喻。這促使我們尋找一種具有我們希望在新網絡中體現的特性的穀物。 團隊想要一個簡短而有影響力的名字。 每個人都感到很有趣,它也是與異想天開的模因有關的穀物。 Chia Network誕生了。

“如果有其他問題,我該如何與您聯繫?”

您可以通過以下方式給我們發送電子郵件 [email protected] 或加入我們 Keybase.

FAQ

What is Chia?

Chia was incorporated in August of 2017 to develop an improved blockchain and smart transaction platform. We are building the Chia Network to improve the global financial and payments systems. Chia will be the first enterprise-grade digital money. Chia is using the first new blockchain consensus algorithm since Bitcoin. Called Proof of Space and Time, it was created by Bram Cohen, the best network protocol engineer alive and the inventor of BitTorrent. Chialisp is Chia’s new smart transaction programming language that is powerful, easy to audit, and secure. Reference smart transactions currently available are: atomic swaps, authorized payees, recoverable wallets, multisig wallets, and rate-limited wallets.

What is Proof of Space and Time?

Proof of Space is a cryptographic technique where provers show that they allocate unused hard drive space for storage space. In order to be used as a consensus method, Proof of Space must be tied to Proof of Time. PoT ensures that block times have consistency in the time between them and increases the overall security of the blockchain.

How does Proof of Space and Proof of Time work?

Proof of space can be thought of as a way to prove that you are keeping some storage unused on your hard-disk drive. Users of the Chia blockchain will “seed” unused space on their hard-disk drive by installing software which stores a collection of cryptographic numbers on the disk into “plots.” These users are called “farmers.” When the blockchain broadcasts a challenge for the next block, farmers can scan their plots to see if they have the hash that is closest to the challenge. A farmer’s probability of winning a block is the percentage of the total space that a farmer has compared to the entire network.

Proof of time requires a small period of time to pass between blocks. Proof of time is implemented by a Verifiable Delay Function that takes a certain amount of time to compute, but is very fast to verify. The key idea of a VDF is that they require sequential computation, and since having many parallel machines does not yield any benefit, electricity waste is minimized. There will likely be relatively few VDF servers (“Timelords”), as the fastest one will always finish first and it takes only one fast and fair Timelord on the network to complete a block and move the chain forward.

What is Chialisp?

Chia has a newly developed, innovative blockchain programming language called Chialisp, which is powerful, easy to audit, and secure. Chialisp is a superior on-chain smart transaction development environment that will unlock the security, transparency, and ease of use that cryptocurrencies promise.

Where can I learn more about Chialisp?

Read our blog post introducing Chialisp. Documentation can be found at Chialisp.com.

Why is Chia better?

Chia has a new innovative Nakamoto style consensus algorithm that removes the energy demands of Proof of Work from the system. Compared to other cryptocurrencies, Chia will have significantly better security due to its more decentralized blockchain. Chialisp is Chia’s new smart transaction programming language that is powerful, easy to audit, and secure and will unlock the security, transparency, and ease of use that cryptocurrencies promise. Chia is also adopting more modern cryptographic tools to enable richer smart transaction capabilities. Chia is taking a new and superior approach to funding, building, and supporting a blockchain via an eventually public, for-profit, open source development company that holds a pre-farm. Chia will use its pre-farm (“Strategic Reserve”) to ease the volatility of the coin to mitigate bubbles and crashes and to drive adoption of chia.

Where can I learn more about the technical details of your consensus algorithm?

We have academic papers and presentations that give detail about our new consensus algorithm and blockchain software. In 2019 we revealed our Green Paper outlining the construction of Proofs of Space and Time and illustrating many of the design choices of Chia. There is also a 2019 talk from Mariano Sorgente at MIT on how to achieve Nakamoto consensus with Proof of Space and VDFs.

Bram Cohen presented at Stanford on February 2018 on Proofs of Space. Our advisors, Dan Boneh, Benedikt Bünz, and Ben Fisch published a survey of VDFs which are the underlying technology of Proof of Time. Lipa Long published an explanation of class groups that our Proofs of Time is based on. Bram presented Beyond Hellman’s Time-Memory Trade-Offs with Applications to Proofs of Space at BPASE ‘18 in January 2018 based on the academic paper and these slides by Hamza Abusalah. Ben Fisch gave a talk at BPASE 2018 in January 2018 on Verifiable Delay Functions. Bram spoke at Blockchain at Berkeley (which starts about 20:00) in March 2018 with slides. Bram gave a talk at BPASE 2017 in January 2017 on removing waste with Proofs of Space and Time (slides).

Bram gave a talk at SF Bitcoin Devs Seminar about data structures for scaling Bitcoin with slides and Merkle Set code. Bram gave a talk at SF Bitcoin Devs Seminar about removing waste from cryptocurrencies.

What is the Chia Network strategy?

It is our belief that the blockchain industry is still led by developers. We intend to be the superior chain for deploying new applications and services as well as being the only serious and secure choice for applications like sovereign backed stable coins. The Chia Network business will be the first for profit company that manages a pre-farm and we intend to be the first publicly tradable “near ETF” cryptocurrency. We believe that - as Redhat and MySQL AB were necessary to drive corporate adoption of linux and mysql - we will be the source for support and training as sovereigns, financial institutions, and corporations look to use cryptocurrency in daily commerce. Finally, we believe that we will be able to leverage the storage ecosystem to drive adoption at corporations and end users as harddrive manufacturers and storage server sellers are likely to bundle space farming into their offerings.

What is the difference between mining and farming?

Mining requires expensive single use hardware that consumes exorbitant amounts of electricity. We are mitigating this problem through a fair, eco-friendly, and better blockchain that uses farming to leverage existing empty hard disk space distributed on nodes around the globe. Farming remains decentralized because anyone that has installed our software and has plots can win the next block. Mining requires expensive custom single use hardware and access to electricity at wholesale or better prices which only purpose built corporations can afford to mine. Farming is more decentralized because it relies on empty hard disk space and anyone with a mobile phone, laptop, or corporate network tends to have extra space not currently being used. Unlike mining, once you’re done farming your storage you can repurpose it to, for example, store your family photos.

Why do I want to farm Chia?

You can farm Chia on the unused storage space of your mobile phone, laptop, or corporate network and, in return, you have the chance to receive rewards in chia for helping secure the blockchain. Our software will allow you to allocate a certain amount of unused disk space to create plots. Since the only resource intensive step is the initial plotting, once you download the Chia node software, your drives will be plotted in the background. Once plotting is complete, your computer will begin farming on your behalf and the software does all the work and tracks your rewards for you. Ongoing farming uses very little network bandwidth and almost no resources other than storage. By making the farming process available to anyone with unused disk space, we are moving towards our goal of a truly decentralized blockchain that will also serve as a cross subsidy to the storage and cloud industry.

What is the Chia Strategic Reserve?

Chia will pre-farm a large supply of coins at network launch to help stabilize and grow the Chia economy through Chia’s novel business plan of lending Chia.

We will announce the specific size of the pre-farm along with audited financial statements and corporate controls around the pre-farm shortly before mainnet launch.

Why are we pre-farming?

Chia has a novel business model to both, lower volatility of the coin and increase adoption. By loaning Chia and managing the interest rates of those loans as well as other tools like buying our stock with chia coins, we hope to lower the quarter to quarter volatility of the coin. To drive adoption, we intend to loan Chia to Global 5000 companies who will use it to pay their international vendors quickly, less expensively, and more securely. We also intend to use the strategic reserve to aid development and adoption. We plan to do things like invest in promising startups in the Chia ecosystem, potentially increase farming rewards during limited periods of time to spur additional farming, and fund corporations paying 105% of the value of their international payables in Chia instead of fiat currency.

Is Chia doing an ICO?

No. Chia is not planning an ICO. Instead, our goal is to take the company’s equity public on an American stock exchange. This way, shareholders can share risk and return with management with transparency and disclosure and we can use well understood corporate controls to make binding statements about how Chia Network intends to use the Strategic Reserve. The Chia digital money is meant to be a useful payment instrument and not an investment opportunity. Chia intends to complete a fully compliant SEC registered equity IPO and will come to market as market-timing is amenable after the launch of mainnet.

Can I buy Chia today?

No. Once mainnet launches, we anticipate a multi-week period where only farming rewards are distributed by the network and transactions will not yet be allowed. This is to provide for a period to help stabilize the amount of space allocated to the Chia blockchain and to prioritize our space farmers. Additionally, release candidate farming software will be able to generate plots that will be immediately farmable on both testnet and mainnet at launch. Chia is likely to be available on most global exchanges shortly after transactions begin on the mainnet.

How can I buy Chia?

Shortly after transactions begin on the mainnet, Chia will be available for buying, selling, and trading on most global exchanges from other chia owners.

When will Chia launch Mainnet?

We hope to launch Mainnet as soon as it’s done and we are currently targeting to finish at the end of 2020. Software development is notoriously difficult to predict and the Chia blockchain and Chialisp are the first applied versions of a number of new discoveries in cryptography and computer science. Keep up to date here on our website, on Keybase, on Github, on Trello, and on our mailing list as we continue to release open source software and updates regarding our release plans.

What is Chia’s inflation?

After the Chia pre-farm, Chia will offer farming rewards of 16 chia every 5 minutes. Over the first 15 years the farming rewards will be halved at the end of each 5th year. From year 16 to infinity, the rewards will remain constant at 2 chia every 5 minutes leading to ever decreasing inflation rates. Chia’s inflation falls through the 0.50% rate 42 years after mainnet launch.

Are you writing code yet?

Yes, while we are making a huge effort to architect the blockchain securely, we have already released a BLS Signature library, a VDF/Proof of Time implementation, and a Proof of Space implementation. BLS Signatures allow for better custody and control of transactions on the blockchain, and POT and POS are both critical to our consensus algorithm. We’ve launched both our Beta testnet and Chialisp with a wallet simulator to build Chia smart transactions.

Isn’t the current international monetary system good enough?

No. Around the world, governments and banks cause problematic interactions that make banks difficult to trust, especially in volatile regions like Hong Kong, Venezuela Argentina or Lebanon. International payments, when they are available and work, are slow, expensive and insecure. International SWIFT wires often take 1-5 days. Correspondent banks often charge up to 3% and since the changes to banking since 9/11 and 2008, many countries have limited correspondent banks. International wire fraud losses are very large, and we have a better solution to mitigate these problems.

Does Chia use Bitcoin’s code?

No. Chia is written entirely from scratch.

Isn’t Bitcoin good enough?

When Bitcoin was developed, it was not foreseen that specialized hardware could vastly outperform the computers that everyone owns. What was intended to be a decentralized network is now controlled by a small number of miners with access to chip fabrication plants and wholesale electricity purchasing (or worse). The miners who currently control the Bitcoin Network feel they have a competitive advantage as is and oppose changing the protocol even when it’s clear that it should be changed. Chia has had ten years to study the new digital money ecosystem and believes we can make cryptocurrency more decentralized, more secure, and easier to use.

Is the value of Chia going to be as volatile as other cryptocurrencies?

We believe that Chia coins will be less volatile than other cryptocurrencies due to the planned nature of our planned public company status which will allow financial institutions to hedge and leverage coins and equity. Initially, we expect Chia Network to largely be valued based upon the valuation of the chia that the Company will hold on its balance sheet. Movements in the price of chia on digital exchanges are likely to be mirrored by price movements in the price of our stock on a stock exchange. There will be more ways to get exposure to the success of chia than traditional blockchain projects. This will also allow the usual options and derivatives to our stock to be used as something like a synthetic derivative for the price of chia coins. Additionally, our ability to use the Chia Strategic Reserve may reduce some volatility of chia in the market.

Why are you running these competitions?

We believe that more eyes on our code will only make it better. For example, the results of our VDF Competition produced a VDF implementation whose runtime was 80% faster than our original implementation.

Where has Chia advanced the state of the art in applied cryptography?

Chia has created three new core inventions and advanced the interest in, and adoption of, a fourth. Firstly, Chia created the first intended for production BLS Signatures library. Second, Chia will be the first production use of Verifiable Delay Functions, or VDFs. Third, Chia created Proof of Space and Time for Nakamoto consensus.

Finally, Chia will be the first production use of class groups of unknown order which has spawned significant new research into their applicability to cryptography.

Will the average person be able to use Chia as a payment instrument?

Our hope is that, over time, Chia will be supported by point of sale systems and consumer payment apps all over the world. For example, if you pay for a coffee at Tully’s in England with your GrabPay app from Thailand, it should “just work” without you needing to know it was paid in Chia.

Or, for example, if services like Venmo or Cash App aren’t available where you live, using Chia will be far less of a hassle than executing a slow and expensive wire transfer. Using legacy banking to send and convert cash across borders is cumbersome, slow and expensive, and while alternative money transfer services might be faster, they’re not cheap: Western Union can charge upwards of 10% in transfer fees.

The technology will be completely open source and accessible, and anyone will be able to build a new wallet without our permission or assistance. However, we intend to help wallet, exchange, and merchant processing partners with support and integration services, joint marketing and lending for liquidity.

Why are you named Chia?

We’re green money! Our founder Bram Cohen started the company knowing he wanted to reduce the energy dependence of blockchains through a “green” option. The concept of farming seemed to be the best metaphor for filling unused disk space and monitoring it for winning sprouts. This led us to look for a grain that had the properties we wanted to embody with our new Network. The team wanted a name that would be short and impactful. Everyone was amused that it was also a grain associated with a whimsical meme. Chia Network was born.

How do I contact you with more questions?

You can email us at [email protected] or join us on Keybase.